Retrieving file name?

Tagged: ,

• Retrieving file name?

Posted by Amelia Ruddock on August 20, 2024 at 6:13 pm

Hello! I am new at bluebeam javascripting (and scripting in general) and I am trying to make an interactive stamp for office use. I have a functional script that I have edited from the Revu interactive library but I would like it to autofill parts of the file name. I cannot figure it out for the life of me!! I have attached the script – how would I auto-fill the the first four units of the filename in the “ProjectNo” field? Or just retrieve the filename in general without using the inbuilt “dynamic” feature. There’s more I would like to do but I will keep it at that in hopes that it will lead me to the rest of the answers…. Thanks in advance!

Amelia Ruddock replied 1 month, 3 weeks ago 4 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • David Cutler

August 21, 2024 at 5:17 am
    Rank: UC2 Brainery Advanced Brown Belt UC2 Brainery Advanced Advanced Brown Belt Rank

Welcome to the Brainery @ameliarudd96 !

Hopefully our resident JavaScript expert @lizlarsen will be along to chime in on this….

• Doug McLean

August 21, 2024 at 3:59 pm
      Rank: UC2 Brainery Blue Belt IIII UC2 Brainery Blue Belt IIII

or @isaac-harned

• Isaac Harned

August 23, 2024 at 1:42 pm
    Rank: UC2 Brainery Purple Belt II UC2 Brainery Purple Belt II

var name = this.documentFileName;

this.getField(“fieldname“).value = name;

Alternatively if it needs to be split into multiple outputs it might look something like:

var name = this.documentFileName;

var parts = name.replace(“.pdf”, “”).split(“_”);

var projectNum = parts[0];

var projectName = parts[1];

this.getField(“ProjectNo”).value = projectNum;

this.getField(“ProjName”).value = projectName;

This of course is if you are using the same identifier to split the Number and name in the doc title, i.e. “_” in this case

Hopefully this helps, let me know if you have anything else!

• Amelia Ruddock

August 25, 2024 at 9:30 pm