Bluebeam use with Excel and Fabsuite

• Bluebeam use with Excel and Fabsuite

Posted by Jerome Warne on August 28, 2023 at 1:53 pm

Hello everyone. I am new to Bluebeam, and I was wondering if someone could help me out? I am using Bluebeam to do structural steel takeoffs, and I would like to be able to import my takeoffs into Fabsuite and have the feet and inch’s read as feet and inch’s. When I import my Excel file it automatically changes my feet and inch’s into decimal form, but I want to leave it in feet and inch’s. Anyone else have this issue, or know how to fix it?

Thanks.

Jerome Warne

structural steel estimator

Doug McLean replied 8 months ago 6 Members · 13 Replies
  • 13 Replies
  • Carl Wegman

August 28, 2023 at 2:06 pm
    Rank: UC2 Brainery White Belt UC2 Brainery White Belt Rank

Don’t know how to change the output of your CSV file.

Do know how to make a formula in excel to convert decimal feet to feet and inches.

Would that help you at all?

Noteworthy that this type of excel formula would involve formatting, perhaps your steel import file needs the feet and inches formatted in a specific format? Also, what is the accuracy your are seeking? nearest 1/16″?

• Jerome Warne

August 28, 2023 at 2:52 pm

Not sure on any of that. I am really new to this program, and I am actually teaching myself how to use it. along with that I don’t have really any experience with Excel.

• Carl Wegman

August 28, 2023 at 3:44 pm
      Rank: UC2 Brainery White Belt UC2 Brainery White Belt Rank

Here is an excel formula that assumes your decimal feet measurement is in cell A2.

This is from the Microsoft website.

=TRIM(INT(MROUND(A2*12, 0.0625)/12) & ” ft ” & TEXT(MOD(MROUND(A2*12, 0.0625),12),” # ?/?? \i\n”))

• Vince French

August 28, 2023 at 4:21 pm