Can you add a stretch mark to the area tool?

• Can you add a stretch mark to the area tool?

Posted by mike keisker on October 21, 2022 at 3:08 pm

I need to enlarge or reduce an area while keeping the corners Square. Is there a way with Bluebeam to keep corners square if you have to adjust the size?

If I move a corner
    control point, the outer upper and the lower line snap to Square.

A rectangle tool snaps to a Square and has a center side stretch
    to allow you to expand and contract, but this tool does not give area
    or linear.

As a ceiling contractor, I need to stretch to increments of ceiling tile size. For example, If a room is 10’ wide with 2’ x 4’ tile, I need to stretch the space equal to 12.’

Thanks

Mike

Matt Hackman replied 1 year, 6 months ago 5 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Troy DeGroot

Organizer
    October 21, 2022 at 5:54 pm
    Rank: UC2 Brainery Brown Belt UC2 Brainery Advanced Brown Belt Rank

I do miss that middle grip from AutoCAD. Unfortunately, I don’t think we have that option. Great suggestion to developers. Thanks for being in the group @mikeceilingsystems-com

• David Cutler

October 24, 2022 at 7:53 am
    Rank: UC2 Brainery Brown Belt III UC2 Brainery Brown Belt III

Interesting question @mikeceilingsystems-com

Have you considered creating a grid of standard tiles and then overlaying them onto your plan? Depending upon how you set it up you might be able to apply a “standard” set of panels – say for a 24 ft x 24 ft space and then “trim” the panels that you don’t need out with a couple of clicks.

We discussed something similar for saw cutting with @matt-hackman earlier this year that might be worth a read:

https://uchapter2.com/brainery/estimating/forum/topic/linear-footage-of-saw-cutting/

Dave

• Matt Hackman

October 25, 2022 at 9:04 am
      Rank: UC2 Brainery Yellow Belt IIII UC2 Brainery Yellow Belt IIII

This is a great (likely better) application for what was mentioned in my thread.

• Vince French