Agreed this is the best option, just comes with one little caveat:
When exporting to a network location, Tool sets will be Locked, meaning that to make any changes to the set, user will basically have to unlock or check out the toolset. This can be annoying if you have a base set of tools that needs to change in minor ways along the process.
In our situation, our markups involve alot of visual properties that might need to be changed as we go through highlighting ductwork (i.e. colors that don’t mesh well together or are harder to see through when ductwork overlaps). Our process was originally to store the toolsets on the network, but I would see little random tools added to my chest, or little properties modified in my base tools. It would be great if we could assign permissions to them, but unfortunately, anyone you give access to will be able to unlock it.
What I do now is an export to local storage with dependencies into a folder. Then I manually move the folder to a shared location (it was not exported to the network location directly, so it will not have the lock). When setting up a new system, my training dashboard will instruct users how to manually copy that folder into their “AppData\Roaming\Bluebeam Software\Revu” \version folder, then they can open revu, import the profile, which will come with the tool chests. If a user wants to replace the toolset with the original, the folder will remain in the app data folder and can be dragged from the imported folder to the main “Revu/(version)” folder, and if there is an update to the Master file on the network, that toolset can be dragged directly to replace the same toolset. This eliminates the multistep re-import as long as they are named exactly the same.
Report
There was a problem reporting this post.
Block Member?
Please confirm you want to block this member.
You will no longer be able to:
See blocked member's posts
Mention this member in posts
Invite this member to groups
Message this member
Add this member as a connection
Please note:
This action will also remove this member from your connections and send a report to the site admin.
Please allow a few minutes for this process to complete.