Where did I put that custom tool?

• Where did I put that custom tool?

Posted by David Cutler on May 25, 2022 at 4:15 pm

I have more than 350 custom tools at this point. They are generally sorted into Tool Boxes by type of work (Water, Sewer, Storm Sewer, Paving, Etc.). I have a master list of item numbers from the estimating software that we use that I highlight as I create custom tools for that item.

Sometimes I cannot find the tool in my toolbox, even though I have it highlighted as “created” in my list. I’m confident that the tool was created as when I start entering the tool specific subject in the properties window when I start to create a new tool auto populates with the same information. While there is a chance that I created the tool, but didn’t save it to a tool box I’m pretty sure I’ve created the one in question.

Does anyone know if there is a way to search your custom toolboxes for a custom tool? I tried the “Find Tools + Commands” in the help menu, but that seems to only find “standard” Revu tools.

Vince French replied 1 year, 11 months ago 3 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Doug McLean

May 25, 2022 at 9:05 pm
    Rank: UC2 Brainery Blue Belt II UC2 Brainery Blue Belt II

David, you might try this.

I have a few custom tool chests that are a little generic. Each only holds a few tools. What I have is a custom column called Product that holds the different types of what is represented in the tool chest. For example, in my Casework – Wall tool chest there are only about 6 tools, but once I place that, I have about 20 specific Products associated with that markup.
    In my Custom Column data, I have the various products set to specific subjects, so only those products associated with a specific subject appear in the dropdown list.

Would something like that help you out at all?
    I know its not exactly what you’re looking for, but it does make finding stuff easier.

• Vince French

May 26, 2022 at 12:22 am