Noob Trying to learn Javascript

• Noob Trying to learn Javascript

Posted by Kevin Endresen on May 12, 2023 at 10:03 pm

I am trying to make a stamp. I used one of the examples from bluebeam but when I modify the code to remove what I don’t need, I am no longer prompted for the dialog box. I do still have the Calculation textbox with the defined custom calculation field

var builder =

{

// These map to Text Fields in the Stamp

textBoxes :

[

{ field:”CheckedBy”, description:”Checked by:”, default:function() { return Collab.user; } },

{ field:”Date”, description:”Date:”, default:function()

{

var curDate = new Date();

return (curDate.getMonth() + 1) + “/” + curDate.getDate() + “/” + curDate.getFullYear();

}

},

{ field:”Spec”, description:”Spec #:”, default:function() { return “”; } }

]

}

Isaac Harned replied 9 months, 3 weeks ago 4 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • Isaac Harned

May 15, 2023 at 4:55 pm
    Rank: UC2 Brainery Purple Belt I UC2 Brainery Purple Belt I

I am playing with this one, but doesn’t look like an easy fix right off the bat. Nothing obvious in coding that I can see, and I’m pretty sure the calculation script is smart enough to account for missing items, but maybe @lizlarsen might have more of an idea.

• Mac McDoanld

May 17, 2023 at 6:35 pm

I’m a noob as well, so don’t laugh, but perhaps missing a comma after the last closed bracket. appears in the sample code the open and close bracket for the textBoxes as well as the open and close bracket for the radioButtons, all have a comma following the close bracket.

• Liz Larsen

May 24, 2023 at 12:37 pm
    Rank: UC2 Brainery Orange Belt IIII UC2 Brainery Orange Belt IIII

I brought it into my favorite JavaScript syntax checker, https://jshint.com, and it showed me that there are indeed some syntax errors.