This depends on many factors and there are probably several correct answers.
If I just add a new Toolset, I just share the .btx file and have them double-click to load it. Then, Save Profile.
If there are a lot of changes, I would have them delete the Profile .bpx, Toolsets .btx, and Custom Column .xml files. Then, load the entire Profile again.
Some companies save the Profile in a locked folder on a network and map all the individual user computers. This way you can make the change globally. Some run a script to delete and deploy profiles every weekend. The rest here is anyone taking the time to build their own custom tools, might lose them (every weekend)
Please note:
This action will also remove this member from your connections and send a report to the site admin.
Please allow a few minutes for this process to complete.