Excel and Quantity Link Script

• Excel and Quantity Link Script

Posted by Dan Diesing on September 19, 2023 at 10:49 am

Hi All,

I heard you guys might be able to help me or at least steer me in the right direction. I’ve never really looked into Excel scripting. I have been using Bluebeam Revu for about 6 months (career change due to injury), and I do mostly finish carpentry takeoffs with it. The small company I work for was old school before I got them on Bluebeam. The most time-consuming part of my estimating is using Quantity link. Having to right click and choose Count or length(main 2 i use) then subject and layer over and over again. Some projects are quite large and have 15+ Different floors or Buildings with 15 Parameters I track (ie. Different doors, different trims ect.). Once I have it into excel it makes everything very nice and fast.

Is there a way to use VBA or a Macro to make quantity link faster?

I use Subject (each Item, such as Baseboard), and layer (Each floor or Building) mostly in the quantity link.

Subjects: Suite Entry Door, Exterior door, interior swing, Baseboard ect.

Layers: L1, L2, L3 or B1, B2, B3

So my Excel sheet,If there is a way I could have a macro(or VBA) that would take the Header of the table as the subject, and the First row of the table as the Layer to easily input them into the table. It would also have to dictate what type of measurement it is (Such as Count, Area, Length)

If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great!

Thanks

Vince French replied 5 months, 3 weeks ago 7 Members · 32 Replies
  • 32 Replies
  • Vince French

September 19, 2023 at 1:05 pm

It appears like you are trying to use more than just the summary measure and subject in Excel. In this case the best thing to do is to not use Quantity Link and instead export your entire Markup List to a csv file and then import that into your Excel spreadsheet. This way you can use all of the data.